Nautical Frame

This one was embarrassingly easy. Not to sure I even want to share it. Its pretty self explanatory. I needed something to display my cheesy look at me I am in my cap and gown and just got handed my diploma picture.

So off to Michaels I go with three kids in tow, and found a frame on clearance, it was HUGE, and white, but I liked the size because the wheels began to turn of all the things I could do to it.

Stripes. I have a stripe obsession. For real. All my shirts, stripes.

Teal/Aqua. My biggest obsession. So it wasn’t too hard to decide how I wanted the frame decorated. I already had this color spray paint from making the pom poms for my graduation party.

I went home to the kid’s house, and found painters tape in Dad’s tool box, it was wide painters tape, so wide it was.

I just eye balled and placed the tape where I thought it would look good. Again, I dont measure, and I am not technical. so, nothing ever comes out perfect but thats way I convince myself to like it.

I went outside and spray painted everything even the sides and inside. ( I took out the glass so there was no hassle)

For the stripe in the middle, I used the same piece of tape and ran it over the middle, and then after applied  I cut it in half and wrapped it. This was so the top and bottom stripe would be perfectly lined up.

So after it dried, I peeled the tape off and I was iN LOVE with the way it came out. So in love. that I didn’t want to touch it. the frame looked store bought, but better then when I bought it from the store!

But this was a nautical themed party so I decided to add an anchor, Again I got help because I am not a artist. so my i traced the anchor and my friend implemented, then traced it on the frame and painted it. I was going to add glitter or even my name at the top, but This always happens to me where I like the project I making and I do one more step and ruin the whole thing.

BUT NOT THIS TIME. this TIME WAS DIFFERENT. I left it. and I love it. and now it hangs in my room, kinda weird to have such a large picture of me, in my own room, but I really just love the frame and how it looks in my room so I think I will change out the picture soon.

Success!!!

2 thoughts on “Nautical Frame

Leave a Reply

