Retirement Cake- & My easy EASY Fondant Recipe

My dad retired this friday after 31 years at the same company. He worked for Nstar and my mom and I were throwing him a surprise party. She asked me to make the cake and I of course said yes.

The cake had to be large, but I didn’t want it to be your average sheet cake. MY mom and I came up with three cake spread all circles, I made this cake at work, (babysitting) and they didn’t have enough pans so some of the cakes are 9 inch and some are 8 inch. no biggie.

I have ALWAYS had a problem frosting a cake, getting the crumbs everywhere trying to make it look good, breaking the cake all common problems, my mommy would always have to help me, thats why for the past years, I have just used fondant. its that much easier to me. We wanted a frosted base cake, so I was FORCED TO FROST.

Heres what saved me.

Helpful Trick: Take canned frosting, and WHIP IT. With your beater, whip for a few minutes until it is light and fluffy.

This is literally SO GREAT. It almost doubles your frosting, it also doesn’t appear as canned frosting anymore. BEST OF ALL. its not heavy, so it doesn’t pull crumbs off your cake when your spreading. So I SPREAD FROSTING WITHOUT CRUMBS, BREAKAGE AND A DISASTER :)

Making fondant:  Fondant is EXPENSIVE at boxed. Much cheaper to make your own, but easier? It can be with this recipe!

  • One bag of Mini Marshmallows
  • 2 tbl of Water
  • BIG OL bag of Powdered Sugar- (okay just the average size)

Microwave the marshmallows in a microwave safe dish, but FIRST add in the two tbls of water over the marshmallows. Microwave for about 45 seconds, take out stir, repeat until they are smooth, should take about two  times. Now time to get sticky, Add in powdered sugar, like A LOT, start with a cup, and then another, I always use more than two cups, This is all under your digression, you have to get the fondant so its not sticking to the bowl, or the spoon or your fingers, but you also need extra sugar on the counter and for your hands when your rolling it out.

Since I was babysitting I hired the kids to help. The oldest was great at mixing the colors, I use wilton colors. I then asked the kids if they had play dough letter cut outs. THEY DID, so the letters came out perfect because we had “cookie” (playdough” cutters for them!!!

 

Here comes the cool part, So since he worked for the electric company, responding to every storm when poles where knocked over, I had to incorporate them! I took large and small pretzel rods and attached them by fondant. Made a trip to  a penny candy store with the kids and bought black licorice. This was the cord that attached from pole to pole. I very carefully stuck the rods in the cake and strung the cords.

PROBLEM. CALL NSTAR. The last pole kept FALLING OUT OF THE CAKE. Soon the hole got so big it was no longer staying. But we only say HAPPY ACCIDENTS around here. and we made the best of it.

 

The kids and I grabbed little lego man, and began making an NSTAR truck out of legos. We have the little lego man tools in his hands, and made a crane/ladder for him to be up in the air fixing the pole. Just like Daddy’s REAL JOB. always cleaning up after the storm!

I bought kids handcuffs from the dollar store, and placed them on the cake, one hand cuff open and one closed. In the closed handcuff it said the date he began working, and in the open, the date he retired. The theme of the cake

” You did your time now your free”

I didn’t get a good picture of the final product, because it was surprise party and I was in charge of setting the thing up!!! My dad’s friends shined a flashlight on it during the party and I snapped a picture.

 

Dad was surprised the cake was a hit. SUCCESS!

P.S. I discovered RUM CHATA at this party. Its a rum horchata drink Anyone who is portuguese and ever had rice pudding, this is  A DREAM. Tastes like Vavo’s kitchen. EXACTLY LIKE RICE PUDDING. Great drink to bring to parties.  I highly recommend it, and you can find it in the cordial section of the liqueur store. Spring some cinnamon on it over ice and its so great. I miss is greatly since YA KNOW Paleo DIET.

Leave a Reply

