Lindsey’s Special Sauce

OMIGOD. so I just MADE UP spaghetti sauce. Paleo. I am so IMPRESSED with myself. Heres the deal:

I have always hated spaghetti and meatballs, I LOVE tomatoes (eat them like apples) and I love pizza sauce, but there is something about spaghetti sauce I never liked. Red sauce eww. Just dont enjoy it. Same way how I love pickles but hate relish.

So the other day I decided to try Spaghetti Squash. Because thats what I can eat on Paleo. So Spaghetti Squash is easy, cut in half, take out the seeds, and bake face down at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. Then I added Prego Sauce, (not Paleo friendly) and I HATED IT. you know why because it tasted JUST LIKE SPAGHETTI. for real. So I recommend spaghetti squash, because you REALLY can’t taste the difference. It’s what they say I know. But its true.

So time to try again but this time with my own sauce. This was also the first time I was cooking with coconut oil. I have been hesitant to cook with coconut oil because I thought it was taste coconutty, and I dont like coconut. WRONG. its such a high quality oil, and it DOES NOT taste like coconut!

So I threw in some sweet onion. (half) and two cloves of garlic, and a handful of sliced and diced mushrooms. I sautéed them for a while. Then grabbed a can of whole tomatoes, and put in the juice of the tomato and the tomatoes and diced them in the pan. Simmer Simmer Simmer.

Serve over spaghetti squash. MAN. SO GOOD. It DID NOT taste like Spaghetti Sauce. It kind of tasted like a gourmet pizza sauce, they kind you eat on a margarita pizza or something.

Here is my meal for the night: spinach and cauliflower “mashed potatoes” wasn’t a fan of those….

DELISH, SUCCESS.

20120918-111011.jpg

Leave a Reply

