Caramel Delights- A crowd pleasing cookie

So I wanted to make something different for my Cookie and Cocktails Party. I have been debating this cookie for a while now. It seemed like it had a lot of steps, but when actually making it, its painless. I got this recipe from Once Upon a Plate. They were so tasty and I LOVED EM!

Here’s the recipe-

1 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
up to 2 tablespoons milk
Preheat oven to 350F
Mix all these ingredients together, and add the milk only if necessary. I didn’t use the milk :) The dough is a different dough, and very bread-like.
Roll out the dough and cut circles, the only circle cookie cutter I had was a large circle, I tried different things to cut out the middle, and the only one I found that worked well was the cap of a high lighter. hahaha. This dough can be fragile, but can be easily mended back together. Bake for 10- 12 minutes or until golden.
The recipe says to cover in chocolate after putting the coconut topping on, but I thought this was silly. So I dipped the bottoms in melted chocolate from Michaels. Heres a tip, melt the chocolate in a large LID! Rather than a bowl, this way its large and flat, and works perfect covering these cookies, you can dip both sides, but I dipped one side, let is set, and then rolled it in the chocolate to cover the sides and a little but if the tops that way if the coconut filling didn’t reach the end, you wouldn’t see the bare cookie. I DEFINITELY. recommend covering in chocolate before putting on the topping. I used one bag of chocolate melts and this was enough.
Topping:
3 cups shredded coconut (sweetened or unsweetened)
12-ounces good-quality chewy caramels
Melt caramels in the microwave, for 3-4 minutes and stir in the coconut. I missed the part of the recipe where it said to TOAST the coconut, OOPS, but it came out still delish, so if you’d like to toast the coconut before, heres the deal:
Spread coconut evenly on a rimmed baking sheet and toast 20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes, until coconut is golden. Watch carefully, especially near the end of toasting time; the coconut toasts very quickly once it begins to become golden.
I used a tablespoon for each cookie and spread with my finger and it got very messy.
After the coconut has set, pipe some chocolate and drizzle over the cookies for a last good looking look!
Worth all the extra steps for these cookies :)
One thought on “Caramel Delights- A crowd pleasing cookie

  1. Pingback: Cookies and Cocktails | Senior Year 2 Real World

Leave a Reply

