Cookies and Cocktails

This was the name of my last event. Cookies and Cocktails. Here is the invite I sent out to everyone via FB:

So heres the deal, does anyone actually ever get to use all those recipes you PIN? NOW YA DO. This party idea came to me like a dream.

The concept is sort of based off of a Cookie Swap. Back in the day my family and I would make dozens of cookies and bring them for the family, We would all swap a dozen and come home with 8 do

zen cookies of what everyone else made. It was great fun.So why dont we try it out? on a much smaller scale. So the cookie swap will consist of everyone bringing 2 dozen cookies, this way you can swap a few cookies with everyone else this way your coming with a VARIETY of 2 dozen cookies. (if we dont eat them all at the party).SECOND PART: COCKTAILS. We’re getting older, time to explore more than just the sprite and flavored vodka. haha. There is a whole world out there of cocktails we have never tried. So find a cool cocktail recipe online make a pitcher of it, and bring it! If everyone brings a pitcher we will have a grand old time. Sipping and trying everyones concoctions!
I really wanted to make really great cookies and I thought long and hard about this decision. I decided on my classic Peppermint Cookies and also decided to take on Girl Scout Caramel Delights. Those cookies have quite a few steps but I had some time.
For the cocktail I knew it had to be blue, I love blue drinks. I found a variety of recipes online but decided to combine my own together.
I picked up a few little things at Michael’s because I wanted to make prizes. I got one dollar glitter crowns and used stickers I already had at home. I got a sugar cookie scented candle for the winner of best cookie, and then I soaked gummy bears in vodka. I thought it would be fun for people to have something to wear to show off their wins. haha.
I also was given flip flop drink charms because I used to be OBSESSED with flip flops. I got stickers and stuck everyones initials on the back of the drink charms with the help of Audrey and Amy. I then took the scrapbook paper I bought at Michaels and made name cards, to for each person who was coming. This way they could place their name on the cookies and cocktails they made so it would be easy when it came down to voting.
For voting I wrapped a box with wrapping paper and cut a hole in it for the ballot box, Cut scrapbook paper for the ballots. I made a list of the participants, and put it on a clipboard so I could easily tally when it came to the votes. When I throw a party I try to imagine everything that will be needed at the party so I dont spend the whole night running around for things. Example: a bucket of sweatshirts if I am having a party outside (someone always needs a sweatshirt). If I plan on playing games I have everything set. and ready to go. Just makes it more pleasant to be a party host!
My cookies I made were Caramel Delights and Peppermint Cookies. I was excited to see what everyone would bring. It was funny that it forced my non-baker friends to bake. One of my friends said ” I can’t believe you like to do this, it gives me so much anxiety” Other friends were very impressed with themselves that they were able to make something from scratch.
Here is the lay out of the cookie table: How delicious do all of these look?!
 My friend made so many different cookies. Like the non domestic Ash Pags who bought pre made cookies and filled them with frosting (caught ya). Brielle who frosted and decorated Oreos Halloween Style. Shannon who made the Pinterest S’more cookies. Ashcow some sort of sprinkly fudgey goodness. Toni, authentic Pizelli’s, because her mother owns a Pizelli iron. Erik had someone made tasty chocolate covered sugar cookies, and bertha cooked premade cooke dough (caught you too). Kels who made cup cookies peanut butter and chocolate chocolate, Sarah Andes Choco Mint Cookies, Ariana nutella cookies Morgan “dark and stormy” spice cookies with real rum in them and they WON best cookie. They were really tasty, and my personal fav just because I could see how much effort was put into them, Monika’s Pinata Cookie. These things were amazing, so I asked her to send me pics of them. They made noise when you shook them, I mean CMON and look a the color and THE BOWS! Bravo Monika, Bravo.
Cocktails were another great adventure. We called mine Slime, or Blue Lagoon, but we had so much of it, it was strong but tasty, and I froze the rest. It made a huge cocktail. Erik made some arnold palmer mix, that was delish. Ariana a cranberry margarita, Toni and winter sangria with cranberries and figs and other sautéed winter fruits. Ashcow made this delish Thin mint cookie martini that she mixed right there for us. IT was to DIE for. Bertha made apple cider and rum, ( I always love that) and Sarah made Love potion, which was vodka sherbert lemonade, it was yummy and won best cocktail! ( I think I am forgetting some).
I started my classic Cereal Box game, which is wear you have to pick up the cereal box with just your mouth, only having your feet on the ground, your arms, knees anything else can not touch. As the game progresses I cut the cereal box and make it shorter and harder.
Then we decided it was WAY to friggin hot in the basement so we moved out to the deck. A Deck party with Twinkle lights on October 5th, Can you believe it? I definitely did not mind.  Outside we played a humming game where I make team members stand far away from each other and when I scream go run and hum to their other team mate while the team mate tries to guess. It was hilarious.
Me with a crown too:
Byt the next day I ended up with so many cookies-so many cocktails left over, and it was so fun to see all my college friends again, make people step out of their comfort zone and throw together. We had a blast hanging out on the deck and enjoying cocktails.

4 thoughts on “Cookies and Cocktails

  1. Pingback: End of my Whole30 | Senior Year 2 Real World

  2. Pingback: Caramel Delights- A crowd pleasing cookie | Senior Year 2 Real World

  3. Pingback: Blue Slime- Blue Lagoon Cocktail | Senior Year 2 Real World

  4. Pingback: Caramel Apple Sangria | Senior Year 2 Real World

Leave a comment