Rum Chata Cupcakes

Oh boy. So I myself being obsessed with Rum Chata and all my friends- I was immediately drawn to this recipe. Again, this was during my vacation in between contracts and my circle of friends was having a reunion brunch on easter weekend. I thought this would be the perfect dessert.

 

I already had Rum Chata in my cabinet so I wasn’t worried about how much Rum Chata it would use.

 

First of all- this was one of the most complicated Cupcake recipe I’ve ever made. There were just so many steps, and I found it unnecessary at some points. With all the mixing the batter was really thick, and took a long time to blend the ingredients. I think this resulted in my OVER mixing. Which in turn made REALLY small cupcakes. But they were so DENSE. They felt like bricks when you picked them up. The frosting was delicious and did make a lot and I left some to freeze, but also piled on the frosting on the tiny cupcakes.

 

So overall they weren’t your fluffy cupcakes you’d buy in the bakery, they were thick, dense, rich heavy, but over all tasty. Would I make them again? Probs not.

 

RumChata Cupcakes (Yield: ~24 cupcakes, batter is thick, I think I ended up with 23)
Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick, at room temperature)
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup RumChata
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 4 egg whites
Directions:
  • Preheat oven to 350*
  • Combine sugar & butter and beat until fluffy
  • Mix together flour, baking powder, salt, & cinnamon, set aside
  • Mix the RumChata & vanilla together, set aside
  • Alternating, add in the flour mixture and RumChata mixture in to the butter and sugar. Start and end with the flour mixture.
  • In a clean mixing bowl, beat egg whites until soft peaks form (this will be easiest in an electric mixer)
  • Fold egg whites in to the batter – do not do this in an electric mixer, use a spatula
  • Fill cupcake liners
  • Bake for 20 minutes or until cake “bounces back” when touched.
RumChata Cream Cheese Frosting
NOTE: This makes A LOT of frosting. I tend to use quite a bit on my cupcakes. I ended up with a cup extra. So, if you don’t use a lot, cut the recipe in half. (I also normally freeze my leftover frosting for use later. I label and date it, I’ve used some that’s been frozen for just about 5 months and it tasted fine)
Ingredients:
  • 12 ounces of cream cheese (1 1/2 packages, at room temperature)
  • 1/2 cup of butter (1 stick, at room temperature)
  • 1/2 tsp of vanilla
  • 5 tbsp of RumChata
  • 1 package of confectioners’ sugar (2 lb. bag)

 

Thanks for the creative recipe!

20130523-222037.jpg

Leave a Reply

