Stuffed French Toast

This is a recipe I first had at a wedding brunch, and I begged for the recipe. I have since made it for a christmas breakfast at school and for a Christmas brunch I hosted at my house. It is so easy and I make it the night before and let it sit in the fridge and bake it the next morning.

Ingredients:

1 loaf of french bread
1 cup brown sugar
2 tsp corn syrup
1/2 cup of butter
1 3/4 cups of milk
8 eggs
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
8 oz/ cream cheese

Step 1:
Make caramel sauce by melting butter and brown sugar over medium heat, add corn sryup, begin to boil, do not let it come to rolling boil, it will harden and turn into candy. Remove mixture from heat. Pour mixture into 9×13 pan that is greased. (I cover mine in foil)

Step 2:
Toast layer: Cut up french toast 3/4 inch thick. Lay bread into pan side by side. Spread cream cheese of top layer of bread then add another layer.

Step 3:
Mix eggs milk and vanilla in a bowl with a whisk. Pour over the bread. Place in oven at 350 for about 40-50 minutes.

When you serve it, serve caramel side up.

the last time I made this I ran out of milk and I used some rum chata and egg nog. What a rich flavor it gave!

You may serve this with syrup or whippped cream and fresh berries, although I never do~

20131227-094259.jpg

20131227-094244.jpg

20131227-094319.jpg

Leave a Reply

