INSPIRE- My classroom Project

I saw an idea on Pinterest, where somebody took the letters “READ.” and covered them with pages from a Dr. Suess book. This got me thinking, how could I apply this idea to my classroom? I had a big window sil where I could place the letters, I just had to pick a word. Since I am a speech pathologist assistant, I knew READ wouldn’t be appropriate, and SPEAK was pretty silly. haha. So I immediately thought of The book “Ohh the Places You’ll Go.” Which was book that my mom gave me for high school graduation. Then I read it to my brother on the day of high school graduation, and again on my college graduation.

The book Inspires me, so I thought what a great word to have covered in pages of Dr. Suess. This would serve as a daily reminder that my life has come full circle, I am now teaching Dartmouth children, when I myself was a product of Dartmouth Schools. It would inspire me to give the children I service the tools to succeed. 98 % and 3/4 Guaranteed.

Materials:
Block Letters
Dr. Suess Book
Modge Podge
Paint Brush
Scissors
Pencil
Razor blade

I began with buying block letters that could stand on their own from Walmart.com. They were 1.88 a letter, I couldn’t beat the price. I bought a used copy of the book off Amazon.com.

I decided to go in order of the book. The first letter “I” is the title of the book, and the last letter is one of the last pages of the book.

To begin, I ripped out the page, from there I flipped over the letter and traced the letter onto the page. I cut out the letter and applied modge podge onto the letter and carefully placed book page onto letter. I repeated for the next letters.

Then I noticed some edges were not lined up perfectly, the page would go over the letter. This is when I took the razor blade and trimmed the edges. Then I modge podged over the top, to make a smooth protector coat.

It came out wonderfully! People have already asked to make me letters for them!
There are so many combinations to do this project, maybe you can use multiple Dr. Suess books, or any books at all!

IMG_5416.JPG

IMG_5413.JPG

IMG_5415.JPG

One thought on “INSPIRE- My classroom Project

Leave a Reply

